chain noms

Chain logo


Victorian artists have picked up the bulk of the nominations when the 2016 Australian Blues Music Awards finalists were announced this morning.

The internationally acclaimed guitarist and vocalist Fiona Boyes leads the list with four nominations: Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Artist of the Year and with her band The Fortune Tellers, Duo or Group of the Year.

Fellow Victorian Lloyd Spiegel has three-nominations in Album of the Year, Song of the Year and Artist of the Year while Greg Dodd received two nominations with nods for Song of the Yearand with his band The Hoodoo Men, Duo or Group of the Year. Sydney’s Shane Pacey Trio also picked up two nominations in the Album of the Year and New Talent categories.

The Australian Blues Music Awards recognise recorded material from Australian blues artists with winners taking home the prestigious “Chain” award. Named in honour of legendary Australian blues band Chain, the statuette features Chain’s instantly recognisable logo – a defiant Ned Kelly breaking shackles.

The winners will be announced on Saturday 13th February as part of the Australian Blues Music Festival in Goulburn.

Finalists in all categories are:
Album Of The Year
Double Live Set – Lloyd Spiegel
Watch Out – Shane Pacey Trio
Box & Dice – Fiona Boyes
Take These Blues – Darren Jack

Song of the Year
King With No Crown – Lloyd Spiegel
Louisiana – Fiona Boyes
Who Am I To Judge You – Andrea Marr/the Andrea Marr Band
Home of the Blues – Greg Dodd

Artist of the Year
Kate Lush – Do You Know What Love Is
Lloyd Spiegel – If I Killed Ya When I Met Ya
Nick Charles – Three Lines Deep
Fiona Boyes – Some Stack Lightning

Duo or Group of the Year
The Black Sorrows – Devil in Disguise
Keith Hall & Pat Dow Band – Train
Fiona Boyes & the Fortune Tellers – Easy Babe
Greg Dodd & the Hoodoo Men – I Wish You Would

New Talent of the Year
Kate Lush – Do You know What Love Is
Bradley Harrison – Big Highway
The Shane Pacey Trio – Cold, Cold Feeling


2015 CHAIN AWARDS go to…

Album of the Year

Van Diemen’s Land – Russell Morris


Song Of The Year

Burn, Burn, Burn – John McNamara


Male Vocalist of the Year

Russell Morris – Van Diemen’s land


Female Vocalist of the Year

Cara Robinson – Gotta Love


Duo or Group of the Year

Lazy Eye


Best New Talent

The Bella Reunion


Producer of the Year

Mitch Cairns – Van Diemen’s Land

3 Days of Blues & Fun